Plush Travels- My Trip To New York

On Madison Avenue
On Madison Avenue

This past January I was honored to have been able to attend The Women’s Entrepreneur Festival that was now in its 5th year. This years Keynote Speaker was none other than famed fashion designer Diane Von Furstenberg.  I must take a moment to say what an inspiring woman Ms.Furstenberg is . She went from being the child of a holocaust survivor and a Princess to a successful fashion designer and business woman. One thing that I did take away from her talk was that while she has had much success, she has also experienced failures in her life. Despite the failures she has managed to keep on.

Keynote Speaker Diane Von Furstenberg.
Keynote Speaker Diane Von Furstenberg.

Since this is a 2 day event, the next day was devoted to workshops, an investor panel and networking. Since I am in the ecommerce space, I attended the retail/ecommerce workshop. The panelist for this workshop were Susan Gregg Koger from Modcloth, Claire Mazur from Of a Kind and Aimee Chesire of Hey Gorgeous. The panelist advice and stories on what they went through while building their businesses has been invaluable to say the least.

While the trip was short, I did manage to take in some sights. From Washington Square Park to Madison Avenue and points inbetween, I can say without a shadow of a doubt that New York is a great city. Below are a few photos that I took while in New York.

My room at the Grand Hudson Hotel.
My room at the Grand Hudson Hotel.
On Madison Avenue. Notice the black lives matter sign
On Madison Avenue. Notice the black lives matter sign
Entrance to Washington Square Park
Entrance to Washington Square Park
Me wearing Fashion to Figure leopard dress at NYU.
Me wearing Fashion to Figure leopard dress at NYU.

Overall the trip was amazing. I learned a lot, I met a lot of nice and accomplished women and I got some perspective on what Sheila and I want to accomplish with Plush. I am excited to keep growing Plush into a lifestyle destination for plus size women.

With that said, I thank one and all for reading this blog.

Until next time,

Sharon

Leave a Reply

