Size Matters: Shopping While Fat

Spent yesterday afternoon in downtown Philly with my bestie/twin sister Sheila doing one of our favorite activities: shopping. While I did not find anything to buy, Sheila on the other hand was more fortunate with the buy of life a long black Calvin Klein jumpsuit on sale at Burlington Coat factory(more on the jumpsuit in another size matters post). And while yesterdays shopping trip was overall a good one, there were a couple of things that dampened the experience. As a person of size I am always fully aware that any store that I may go in to may not have clothes in my size, or if they do, it may be in a less desirable section of the store.  This is only one of many things that  one will encounter shopping while fat. Yet I still get disappointed when I go in to a store and do not see anything in my size. I still get frustrated at having to go clear across a store to get to the plus size or women’s section only to see clothes that look cheap, boring and unattractive.  Or if the clothes are attractive, the location of the section makes the clothes less appealing. Another shopping while fat fact that I have encountered is that if I do find clothes in my size that I like, I will have to pay more for my clothes than my thinner counterparts. Nothing brought this home more than when Sheila and I went to Century 21, the discount designer store located in the Gallery Mall. While waiting for Sheila to finish trying on clothes, I decided to take a look around their plus size section. I saw quite a few things that I liked from Mynt 1792, Marina Rinaldi and Vincent Camuto. One particular item that caught my eye was this red with black lace overlay dress from Anne Klein.  Since I am always on the lookout for appropriate work clothes that are reasonably priced, this dress was a steal at $69.99. Or so I thought.   Not more than a few feet a way was the same dress in a straight size for 25% off.  I don’t know about anyone else, but I was offended at the notion that because I was a double-digit size, I would have to pay more for the same dress that my thinner counterpart can get at a discount.

Anne Klein dress- One dress, 2 different prices.
Anne Klein dress One dress, 2 different prices.
Anne Klein dress-straight size
Anne Klein dress-Straight Size
Anne Klein dress-Plus Szie
Anne Klein dress-Plus Size

Even though my photography skills leave a lot to be desired and I was not able to do a side by side comparison, as you can see from the pictures that both dresses are the same but priced differently. I would like to say that this situation is unique, but I can not. Unfortunately this happens  much too often. It seems like retailers want to punish plus size consumers for being fat. Or they are oblivious to their pricing that leaves a sour taste in the mouth of plus size consumers.

As disappointing as that may be, I do have faith that things are getting better for plus size consumers with more retailers introducing plus size lines  in their stores and new plus size clothing labels and stores popping up.

I know that I am not alone in experiencing shopping while fat, so tell me your experiences in the comments below and on Facebook: facebook.com/plushclosets and twitter:@MyPlushCloset.

Until Next Time,

Sharon

2 thoughts on “Size Matters: Shopping While Fat

  1. whereshappy says:

    Hi Sharon,
    I am on the search for new blogs to follow and I stumbled across yours. I am a large person that is fed up with how plus sized people are forced to shop for clothes. My worst experience fat shopping was at a JC Penney about three years ago when I was looking for a formal dress for a cruise that I was going to be taking with my husband. There were about 9,000 different dresses (on the bottom floor) for everyone up to a size 10. When I got completely fed up, I went to the help desk and they told me that the plus sized dresses were upstairs. I found them on two racks shoved near the bedroom mattresses. There were about 4 different types of dresses and they all had some kind of heavy jacket top and tons of sequence. I was livid. I guess I thought I could make a difference and marched back down to the help desk to complain. After spending 10 minutes writing out a very long complaint on the company form I stomped out of the store. On my way out I could hear the girls laughing and reading my complaint. I don’t believe it ever went beyond that point. Things aren’t nearly as bad now, but I really, really hate it when I have to trek through three different shopping sections in a store to get to the clothes that fit me. Wow, it felt good to talk about this to someone. I think I still have issues with this. And don’t even get me started on why fat women clothes seem to have a nautical theme…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sharon2078 says:

      Hello Whereshappy, sorry for not replying earlier. First I would like to thank you for your reply, I greatly appreciate it. Secondly, I am so sorry that happened to you. I am glad that things are getting better, but retailers and fashion designers can still more.

      Again thank you for your reply and I look forward to being able to provide more content that you will enjoy.

      Sharon

      Like

Leave a Reply

